No flash message
Some of the content and features delivered by this site requires JavaScript to be enabled in your browser
Sunday 13 October
My.Anglia > Faculties > Alss > Miners strike > Acknowledgements


A grant of £1600 to pay for the student intern to work throughout July and August plus £400 for expenses was awarded by the Faculty of Arts, Law and Social Sciences at Anglia Ruskin University under the Undergraduate Researchers’ Scheme for a bid submitted by Professor Rohan McWilliam.

Interviews 2015

Vivien Bailey (recorded in St Albans), Professor Morag Shiach (recorded at Queen Mary University, London), Dr Frank Wilkinson, (recorded in Over) Jim Line and Tony Williams (recorded in Abertillery) by Shona Hoey (BA in History, undergraduate researcher on this project).

Interviews in Cambridge with Sue Kingston, Paul Marris, Lucy Munby, and Alison New: conducted by Shona Hoey and filmed by Alexandra Petkova (BA in Film Studies). Interview with Tony Carter conducted by Mary Joannou and filmed by Alexandra Petkova.

Blidworth interviewees Mal Howarth, Ann Petty, Geoff Peace, John and Yvonne Woodhead, recorded in Mansfield by Eric Eaton at the offices of the NUM Ex and Retired Miners Association.

Interviews 2016

Five further interviews were conducted in the summer of 2016. Zoe Munby and Philip Brown, interviewed in Cambridge by Mary Joannou, filmed by Alexandra Petkova returning as an unpaid volunteer to the project.

Tobin Aldrich, interviewed in Adrian Williamsonís office in London, filmed by Ray Parr assisted by Barbara Parr, a participant in the 1984 Cambridge Minersí Support Group.

Dr Jon Lawrence, interviewed at Emmanuel College, Cambridge by Mary Joannou, filmed by Ray Parr.

Bethan Rees, interviewed Anglia Ruskin University, filmed by Ray Parr.

Technical assistance Christopher Parr and Will Smythe.

Interviews 2017

Three interviews were conducted in the summer of 2017. Anne Campbell, Nicky Glegg and Rick Leggatt were all interviewed at addresses in Cambridge by Mary Joannou and filmed by an unpaid volunteer, Elliott Wymer.

Website construction by Gareth Long and transcripts of the 2015 interviews by Shona Hoey.

Research and original written materials for this website: Professor Mary Joannou.

Photo of soup kitchen in Easington used in Lucy Munby's interview by John Harris provided courtesy of Keith Pattison of Report Digital.

Our thanks to  Dr Alison Ainley, Marlene Buick, Paul Bloomfield, Eric Eaton, Graham Fennel and the Anglia Ruskin University Library, Maxine Hall, Dr Jon Lawrence, Jim Line, Gareth Long, Dr Zoe Munby, Keith Stanley, Marie Thompson, Mark Vincent, Mike Weaver, Pearl Williams, Tony Williams, Adrian Williamson, Gina Winning Burgess for additional help.

The papers and letters of Alan and Lore Burgess courtesy of Gina Winning Burgess.  
Photograph of Lucy Munby and Tony Carter with memorabilia courtesy of Rohan McWilliam. 

Photograph of the monument at the Six Bells Pit, Abertillery, Jim Line.

Photograph of Rufford banner courtesy of Nottinghamshire NUM Ex and Retired Miners’ Association

Photograph of Doreen Brierley, Keith Stanley.

Photograph of Pearl Williams, Mary Joannou.

Gwent Food Fund postcard designed by Peter Cormack published by Stoke Newington CP.

Unattributed photographs from Lucy Munby scrapbooks, photographers not known.

‘Myfanwy’, kind permission of Gary Strachlan and the Abertillery Orpheus Male Voice Choir.

Many groups and individuals contributed to the Cambridge Miners’ Support Group in 1984. They included members of the Cambridge and District Trades Council and the following trade unions: AUT, ACTT, ASTMS, AUEW, COHSE, EQUITY, GMBATU, SOGAT, NALGO, NATFHE, NGA, NUPE, NUT, TGWU, UWA, NALGO, students and staff at Cambridgeshire College of Arts and Technology, Cambridge University, Cambridgeshire Regional College, children at Parkside School, the Arjuna Collective, the Claimants Union, the Communist Party, the Co-operative Society, Grapevine Bookshop, members of  local church congregations and of the Society of Friends, the SWP, the Tawney Society, the YMCA, and virtually every ward of the Cambridge Labour Party.