No flash message
Some of the content and features delivered by this site requires JavaScript to be enabled in your browser
 
Wednesday 20 September
Curriculum > Academic Registry: Academic Calendar

ACADEMIC REGISTRY

The Academic Calendar

 

2017-18 Sem Calendar Tile

2017/18 Academic Year:

courses and modules delivered on a Semester basis

 

Key Dates for the 2017/18 Academic Year (Semesters)
Start of Academic Year (Semesters) and Welcome Week
Monday 18th September 2017
 
Semester 1 Teaching
Monday 25th September - Friday 15th December 2017
Semester 1 Examinations
Wednesday 3rd January - Tuesday 9th January 2018
Semester 1 (Re)sit Examinations
Monday 30th July - Friday 10th August 2018
 
Semester 2 Teaching
Monday 29th January - Friday 4th May 2018
Semester 2 Examinations
Monday 14th May - Friday 25th May 2018
Semester 2 (Re)sit Examinations

Monday 30th July - Friday 10th August 2018

 
Christmas Vacation
Monday 18th December 2017 - Monday 1st January 2018 (inclusive)
Easter Vacation
Monday 26th March - Friday 6th April 2018 (inclusive)
 
End of (semester) Academic Year
Friday 22nd June 2018

2017-18 Seme Calendar Image
2017-18 deadline dates image

View the full semester based Academic Calendar for the 2017/18 year in wall planner format for downloading

Principles of the Academic Calendar

All of Anglia Ruskin's undergraduate and postgraduate taught courses are delivered on either:

  • a Semester basis (two periods of learning and teaching in an academic year: September to January and January to June) or
  • a Trimester basis (three periods of learning and teaching in a 12 month period: September to January; January to June and June to September).

Therefore, for each academic year, two calendars are published: Semester and Trimester deliveries.

Anglia Ruskin formally defines Semesters and Trimesters and how they link to the assessment process.

 

Links to the Assessment Process

The Academic Calendars map directly to the assessment process. An Assessment Calendar, which details the dates of individual Departmental Assessment Panel (DAP), Anglia Ruskin Mitigation Panel and Anglia Ruskin Awards Board meetings, is published by the Academic Registry and can be viewed on the Academic Registry's Assessment Service webpages.

In addition, final dates that can be set for the submission of student work are also provided and should be used when Module Leaders are developing their module guides and which correspond directly to the academic calendar and assessment processes.

This page does not provide dates of individual examinations - these are available from the Academic Registry Examinations section.

Queries

Please direct any queries or questions about the Academic Calendar to Paul Baxter, Academic Registrar.