No flash message
Some of the content and features delivered by this site requires JavaScript to be enabled in your browser
 
Sunday 23 April
Curriculum > Academic Registry: Academic Calendar

ACADEMIC REGISTRY

The Academic Calendar

 

2016-17 Tri Calendar Tile

2016/17 Academic Year:

courses and modules delivered on a Trimester basis

(including amended dates for (re)assessment in Summer 2017)

On 15th June 2016, the Senate approved amendments to the Academic Calendar for 2016/17 relating to the re-assessment period for Trimesters 1 and 2 which are now at the beginning of August (previously in mid-July). Teaching dates remain unchanged.

 

Key Dates for the 2016/17 Academic Year (Trimesters)
Start of Academic Year
Monday 19th September 2016
 
Trimester 1 Teaching
Monday 26th September - Friday 16th December 2016
Trimester 1 Examinations
Wednesday 4th January - Tuesday 10th January 2017
Trimester 1 (Re)sit Examinations
Monday 31st July - Friday 11th August 2017
 
Trimester 2 Teaching
Monday 30th January - Friday 5th May 2017
Trimester 2 Examinations
Monday 15th May - Friday 26th May 2017
Trimester 2 (Re)sit Examinations

Monday 31st July - Friday 11th August 2017

 
Trimester 3 Teaching
Monday 29th May - Friday 4th August 2017
Trimester 3 Examinations
Monday 7th August - Friday 11th August 2017
Trimester 3 (Re)sit Examinations
Wednesday 3rd January - Tuesday 9th January 2018
 
Christmas Vacation
Monday 19th December 2016 - Monday 2nd January 2017 (inclusive)
Easter Vacation
Monday 10th April - Friday 21st April 2017 (inclusive)
 
End of (trimester) Academic Year
Friday 8th September 2017

 

16-17 trims calendar image
Deadline for 2016-17

View the full trimester based Academic Calendar for the 2016/17 year in wall planner format for downloading

 

Principles of the Academic Calendar

All of Anglia Ruskin's undergraduate and postgraduate taught courses are delivered on either:

  • a Semester basis (two periods of learning and teaching in an academic year: September to January and January to June) or
  • a Trimester basis (three periods of learning and teaching in a 12 month period: September to January; January to June and June to September).

Therefore, for each academic year, two calendars are published: Semester and Trimester deliveries.

Anglia Ruskin formally defines Semesters and Trimesters and how they link to the assessment process.

 

Links to the Assessment Process

The Academic Calendars map directly to the assessment process. An Assessment Calendar, which details the dates of individual Departmental Assessment Panel (DAP), Anglia Ruskin Mitigation Panel and Anglia Ruskin Awards Board meetings, is published by the Academic Registry and can be viewed on the Academic Registry's Assessment Service webpages.

In addition, final dates that can be set for the submission of student work are also provided and should be used when Module Leaders are developing their module guides and which correspond directly to the academic calendar and assessment processes.

This page does not provide dates of individual examinations - these are available from the Academic Registry Examinations section.

Queries

Please direct any queries or questions about the Academic Calendar to Paul Baxter, Academic Registrar.