No flash message
Some of the content and features delivered by this site requires JavaScript to be enabled in your browser
 
Tuesday 21 November
Curriculum > Academic Registry: Academic Calendar

ACADEMIC REGISTRY

The Academic Calendar

 

2018/19 Academic Year:

courses and modules delivered on a Semester basis

 

 

Key Dates for the 2018/19 Academic Year (Semesters)
Start of Academic Year and Welcome Week
Monday 17th September 2018
 
Semester 1 Teaching
Monday 24th September - Friday 14th December 2018
Semester 1 Examinations
Thursday 3rd January - Wednesday 9th January 2019
Semester 1 (Re)sit Examinations
Monday 29th July - Friday 9th August 2019
 
Semester 2 Teaching
Monday 28th January - Friday 3rd May 2019
Semester 2 Examinations
Monday 13th May - Friday 24th May 2019
Semester 2 (Re)sit Examinations

Monday 29th July - Friday 9th August 2019

 
Christmas Vacation
Monday 17th December 2018 - Tuesday 1st January 2019 (inclusive)
Easter Vacation
Monday 15th April - Friday 26 April 2019 (inclusive)
 
End of (semester) Academic Year
Friday 21st June 2019

View the full semester based Academic Calendar for the 2018/19 year in wall planner format for downloading

Principles of the Academic Calendar

All of Anglia Ruskin's undergraduate and postgraduate taught courses are delivered on either:

  • a Semester basis (two periods of learning and teaching in an academic year: September to January and January to June) or
  • a Trimester basis (three periods of learning and teaching in a 12 month period: September to January; January to June and June to September).

Therefore, for each academic year, two calendars are published: Semester and Trimester deliveries.

Anglia Ruskin formally defines Semesters and Trimesters and how they link to the assessment process.

 

Links to the Assessment Process

The Academic Calendars map directly to the assessment process. An Assessment Calendar, which details the dates of individual Departmental Assessment Panel (DAP), Anglia Ruskin Mitigation Panel and Anglia Ruskin Awards Board meetings, is published by the Academic Registry and can be viewed on the Academic Registry's Assessment Service webpages.

In addition, final dates that can be set for the submission of student work are also provided and should be used when Module Leaders are developing their module guides and which correspond directly to the academic calendar and assessment processes.

This page does not provide dates of individual examinations - these are available from the Academic Registry Examinations section.

Queries


Please direct any queries or questions about the Academic Calendar to Paul Baxter, Academic Registrar.